Close x

Overgrown


Disponibilitate: LIVRARE IN 3-5 SAPTAMANI (produsul este livrat din Marea Britanie)

SKU:
9780262038539

150,99 RON
Okian.ro este o LIBRARIE online de carte in limba engleza.
A call for landscape architects to leave the office and return to the garden.Addressing one of the most repressed subjects in landscape architecture, this book could only have been written by someone who is both an experienced gardener and a landscape architect. With Overgrown, Julian Raxworthy offers a watershed work in the tradition of Ian McHarg, Anne Whiston Spirn, Kevin Lynch, and J. B. Jackson.

As a discipline, landscape architecture has distanced itself from gardening, and landscape architects take pains to distinguish themselves from gardeners or landscapers. Landscape architects tend to imagine gardens from the office, representing plants with drawings or other simulations, whereas gardeners work in the dirt, in real time, planting, pruning, and maintaining. In Overgrown, Raxworthy calls for the integration of landscape architecture and gardening. Each has something to offer the other: Landscape architecture can design beautiful spaces, and gardening can enhance and deepen the beauty of garden environments over time. Growth, says Raxworthy, is the medium of garden development; landscape architects should leave the office and go into the garden in order to know growth in an organic, nonsimulated way.

Raxworthy proposes a new practice for working with plant material that he terms "the viridic" (after "the tectonic" in architecture), from the Latin word for green, with its associations of spring and growth. He builds his argument for the viridic through six generously illustrated case studies of gardens that range from "formal" to "informal" approaches--from a sixteenth-century French Renaissance water garden to a Scottish poet-scientist's "marginal" garden, barely differentiated from nature. Raxworthy argues that landscape architectural practice itself needs to be "gardened," brought back into the field. He offers a "Manifesto for the Viridic" that casts designers and plants as vegetal partners in a renewed practice of landscape gardening.

Mai multe informatii
Autor Raxworthy, Julian (Senior Lecturer, University of Cape Town)
Editura MIT Press Ltd
Dimensiuni 236 x 187 x 36
Data Publicarii 20/11/2018
Format Cartonata
Numar pagini 392
Descriere RO Un apel pentru arhitectii peisagisti sa paraseasca biroul si sa se intoarca in gradina. Adresand unul dintre cele mai reprimate subiecte din arhitectura peisajului, aceasta carte ar fi putut fi scrisa doar de cineva care este atat un gradinar cu experienta, cat si un arhitect peisagistic. Cu Overgrown, Julian Raxworthy ofera o lucrare de bazin in traditia lui Ian McHarg, Anne Whiston Spirn, Kevin Lynch si J.
Aceasta este o carte in limba engleza. Descrierea cartii (tradusa din engleza cu Google Translate) este in limba romana din motive legale.
Un apel pentru arhitectii peisagisti sa paraseasca biroul si sa se intoarca in gradina. Adresand unul dintre cele mai reprimate subiecte din arhitectura peisajului, aceasta carte ar fi putut fi scrisa doar de cineva care este atat un gradinar cu experienta, cat si un arhitect peisagistic. Cu Overgrown, Julian Raxworthy ofera o lucrare de bazin in traditia lui Ian McHarg, Anne Whiston Spirn, Kevin Lynch si J.
Scrieti propria recenzie
Recenzati:Overgrown
Rating-ul dumneavoastra